· 

Osechi-special dishes for New Year and Jyubako-layered lacquer container

When Christmas is over, Japanese people feel like New Year at once. Christmas is also an important event, but since it is not a holiday, it is the New Year holidays when families gather.

Japanese food is already popular overseas, but traditional New Year's meals or Osechi dishes are special. Very elaborate dishes are put in beautiful layered lacquer boxes. Even normal foods, once they be put in this box, it seems very nice. So I once again recognize how important using beautiful container every new year.

In the old days, every household made Osechi by themselves. Because they don't have any choice. But now many households buy it from department store or supermarket. However, those are so expensive that I make Osechi by myself every year. In a word, I'm stingy.

I bought some foods like Kamaboko (fish cake) red and white (auspicious color combination), Datemaki,(sweet egg and fish cake roll) Kobumaki ( kelp rollAnd I cook Kurikinton (sweet potato and chestnuts), Kuromame (sweet black beans) , Tazukuri (seasoned anchovies). Maybe these dishes are difficult to imagine for the European people and also might dislike those of taste. but the looking is marvelous. That's the "Japanese Cuisine"

I arranged those of foods in each box, there you go!

Reasonably beautiful dishes are completed! 

This is my Osechi Jyubako ( layered  container) 

Arranging the food in a jyubako will make me feel more like New Year!

This is Osechi I cooked last year. 

Don't you think this is so good?

Well yes, I 'd like to say, the real one was much better than this! I will try to make them look  way better next new year to show you!

Top page of blog

Go to my tour page

Write a comment

Comments: 3
  • #1

    Linda Steinberg (Saturday, 26 December 2020 23:18)

    Kumi, this looks so beautiful! You are right - doesn't sound as though I would like to taste them, but I do love looking at this beautiful display.
    I am enjoying your blog and learning more about your culture.
    Best of luck with your blog!
    Happy New Year to you and your family. Be well.

  • #2

    Peter Smith (Saturday, 02 January 2021 04:32)

    It looks lovely (and tasty too).
    Due to covid this year, we could only get takeout Japanese food from the restaurants, but instead of eating out of styrofoam containers, we used some lovely plates from Japan. It definitely made the meal more elegant. I will send you some photos.

  • #3

    Anny (Saturday, 02 January 2021 07:21)

    久美さん、 お節は美味しそうね! じゅばっこもきれいですよ!